COMMUNICEREN KUN JE (BIJ-)LEREN

De wat mij betreft onvolprezen professor in de kunst van het Time Management, is de hier regelmatig aangehaalde Don Wetmore. Opdat we niet vergeten hoe anderen op ons zouden kunnen reageren (laat ik dit keer maar eens heel voorzichtig zijn), hier weer een stukje van zijn hand. Het is zomaar een voorbeeld van “zenden en ontvangen”.

Lekker Amerikaans, maar toch ook heel erg van toepassing op “ons”. En lees voor “speak” of “speaking” gerust, in zijn algemeenheid, communicatie. Dus daar valt ook een fenomeen als ‘social media’ onder, toch?

Communication is speaking, being heard and understood and getting the response you want. Without getting the response you want from your listener, you have not communicated and your speaking was not productive.

A lot of that response is not achieved, because we fail to speak productively. We sometimes speak assumptively, turning off our listeners.

Here’s three ways to quickly turn your listeners off and not get the responses you seek from speaking in the first place.

  1. “As you know….” .Unless you know for sure that I know, don’t tell me what I know because if I don’t know, I feel uninformed. I failed somewhere along the way to know what you thought I should have known. Why didn’t I get to know what I should have known?
  2. “As many of you know…”. If I’m not one of the many, the few in the know, I feel marginalized because you’re just talking to those many and few who know, which does not include me. I’m left out. I’m not a part of that exclusive club.
  3. “As most of you know…”. Now that’s a real self-esteem builder. If I’m not in the know, and most around me are, I feel I really messed up because most know it and I don’t and you assumed I did so not only did I not know it, I disappointed your expectations for me. How could I have gone so wrong?

Rid your vocabulary with these three prefaces. Get to your point instead. Speak more productively.

Gut, ik dacht dat ik altijd zo duidelijk was voor iedereen. Dat snappen ze toch wel? Waarom krijg ik dan zo vaak de verkeerde reacties?

Wat vindt u eigenlijk zelf? (Niet bedoeld voor sollicitaties.)

